· Outpost 10F · Forums · Reply · Statistics · Search ·
Outpost 10F Forums / General Chatter / Online authority and resistance - thesis
. 1 . 2 . 3 . >>
bria
# Posted: 5 Oct 2007 02:50

Hi guys,

As you may or may not know, I'm currently in my last year of college and am doing a thesis for one of my subjects, anthropology. You can read the full thesis proposal here:

Aggression, power and resistance: issues of authority and respect in an online environment.

Since I'm planning to base it largely on OTF, I figured I would let you guys know and all that. If anyone has comments, ideas, suggestions or concerns to share, please feel free. Similarly, I will be approaching a good few people about having a chat etc to find out how they see the matter. If you really WANT to be involved, if you think you have valuable insights to share, or even if you just want to talk to me regardless, please do let me know - either here, or by email, although going by past experiences here is probably more likely.

Most importantly of all, note that this is a thesis, it is an academic paper which will be researched etc, and therefore is definitely NOT going to be about who's right or who's wrong. I'm interested in how people interact and influence each other; the minute I bring personal (or other) judgement into it, I've failed. Just in case you were concerned about that.

That's about it. Like I said, feel free to voice whatever comments you might have. But just bear in mind that the idea is not to discuss the issues in my proposal, I don't want it to end up as another forum war. I just want to talk to you guys about your experiences etc, I'm supposed to do the analysing myself, see.

Bria

polson
# Posted: 5 Oct 2007 06:21

I ALWAYs have insights. But since we share a brain, you probably know what they are. I'm still up for discussing it!!!

fat_man
# Posted: 5 Oct 2007 06:55

You could ruffle a few feathers with that =p

bria
# Posted: 5 Oct 2007 07:06

Polson, thank you! =D