· Outpost 10F · Forums · Reply · Statistics · Search ·
Outpost 10F Forums / General Chatter / Career Change, and whats over yonder
stoth
# Posted: 7 Mar 2008 00:58

Hi guys, just a little note to let those who care know that I'm out for a career change in real life.

For those who dont know the story, I'm a chef, have been through the hard slog of my apprentership, and working in a kitchen for just over 5 years. To do the math thats 50 weeks a year, doing normally 5 days a week, say 50 hour weeks (ALOT more some weeks, some less, so its a good average). So, basically 12500 hrs in the kitchen. My body simply cannot handle it anymore. I'm too tall for starters. Also, I love cooking too much to think of it as a chore like i do at home at the moment.

So in a moment of brilliance (or just common sence - equates to the same thing in chefdom) I have decided that I need to move on, but where to?
Well, I asked that, and decided I needed help, So I recently saw a Careers Counsellor. And after the first meeting she thought that teaching maybe a good idea.
I will, however be going back to do some personality tests and what not in a couple of weeks to "confirm" her opinion.

I wont be running out of the kitchen just yet, but I will be walking to the future, either teaching mature aged students, or maybe working with students about to leave school, or something else entirely.

Not many people would have guessed I was going to be a chef 8 years ago, and now I'm not sure where I'll be in 8 years from now.

Aint it exciting?

The Soon-to-be-Ex OTF Chef
Sean

ryo_crimson
# Posted: 7 Mar 2008 18:18